Ute Stroeer Films



Films

Screenings

› Text

CV

Links

Contact

Imprint


Cinematic painting: beauty and fright

An introduction to the work of Ute Ströer

By Oriane Durand

In Ute Ströer’s films the mixture between claustrophobic atmospheres and subliminal eroticism is overwhelming. Already in the first frames of her films the spectator finds himself in a surreal and ambivalent world. In her new film, „Sleeping Fox“, she takes this kind of double entendre to the top: it’s not clear where the different levels of narration begin and where they stop. Moreover, the virtuoso combination of cinematic requisites like skin, cloth, light, and sound amount to an organic still life.
As common for Ute Ströer’s work she takes her inspiration from a fairy tale which she transfers into a screenplay. This screenplay then only sets the direction of the film. From then on Ute Ströer begins work at the composition of the pictures - being director, stage designer, camera operator, costume designer, and actress at the same time. In a small studio she captures one film sequence after the other.
During filming she sees herself on a screen, gets into the right positions and plays out the scene while controlling the light and changing the cinematic requisites so that everything forms a perfect picture. Each new film sequence is born out of the previously filmed material. So step by step a more complex logic emerges. And gradually the film becomes a living painting. The originally written screenplay hereby takes a back seat and the fairy tale takes a course of it’s own.
For Ute Ströer the contents of the fairy tale is not so much important as are the contradictions contained in it. The bare fact that all the characters are played by herself undermines the structure of the fairy tale. For at the same time Ute Ströer is the bad, the good, the generous, the greedy, the beautiful princess, and the hideous witch.
There are no ideal and imagined figures, no heroes with whom the spectator can identify. One only perceives the different facets of one single person. The protagonist embodies a being with multiple identities whose face changes rapidly and utterly from one sequence to the other. One might consider it a sort of cinematic schizophrenia. The change in physiognomy and appearance happens so fast that one hardly takes notice of it. But if you do, the striking difference between the respective figures is remarkable. With faces extremely made up they look like dark, surrealistic characters that could have been taken directly from a horror movie. Here’s where Ute Ströer’s predilection of this genre and in particular films like “The Mask of Satan” by Mario Bava and “The Company of Wolves” by Neil Jordan, becomes apparent. “Sleeping Fox” is a nightmare springing to life in the form of a Movie. In it fright, fears and cravings are represented by the different characters.
There are neither culprits nor victims, nobody who is accused of anything and no one to defend. One has reached a place, like in a dream, where no judgement has to be passed.
Even if the atmosphere in Ute Ströer’s work can at times seem kitschy and flamboyantly baroque, it serves the purpose to do away with the rules of morality and unveil the elements within the fairy tale that can deliberate the subconsciousness.


DEU / ENG

Ute Stroeer Films



Filme

Screenings

› Text

Vita

Links

Kontakt

Impressum


FILMISCHE MALEREI: Schönheit und Schrecken

Kurze Einleitung zum Werk von Ute Ströer

Von Oriane Durand

Verblüffend in den Filmen von Ute Ströer ist die Mischung einer klaustrophobischen Atmosphäre mit der Präsenz einer unterschwelligen Erotik. Schon in den ersten Bildern ihrer Filme findet sich der Zuschauer in einer surrealen und zwiespältigen Welt wieder. In ihrem letzten Film Schlafende Füchsin treibt die Künstlerin diese Doppeldeutigkeit auf die Spitze. Man weiß nicht wo die einzelnen Ebenen der Erzählung anfangen und aufhören. Zudem fügt sich der virtuose Einsatz von filmischen Requisiten wie Haut, Stoff, Licht und Geräusch zu einem organischen Stillleben zusammen.
Wie so oft ist Ute Ströer durch ein Märchen inspiriert und überträgt dieses in ein Drehbuch. Dieses Drehbuch gibt die Hauptrichtung vor. Von da an arbeitet Ute Ströer, die gleichzeitig Regisseurin, Bühnenbildnerin, Kamerafrau, Kostümbildnerin und Schauspielerin ist, an der Komposition des Bildes. In einem kleinen Studio dreht sie eine Filmsequenz nach der anderen.
Während sie sich auf dem Bildschirm sieht, positioniert sie sich, spielt eine Szene, setzt das Licht und die anderen Requisiten bis alles stimmt und ein vollkommenes Bild ergibt. Die nächste Sequenz geht von der Bildkomposition der Vorherigen aus; mit jedem Schnitt entsteht im Film eine immer komplexere Bildlogik. Nach und nach wird aus dem Film ein lebendiges Gemälde. Das Drehbuch rückt also in den Hintergrund und das Märchen nimmt einen anderen Verlauf.
Für Ute Ströer zählt nicht so sehr der Inhalt der Geschichte, sondern was diese an Widerspruch in sich trägt. Die bloße Tatsache, dass sie alle Figuren selbst spielt, untergräbt die Struktur des Märchens. Zur gleichen Zeit ist sie die Böse und die Gute, die Großzügige und die Geizige, die schöne Prinzessin und die hässliche Hexe.
Es gibt keine idealen und geträumten Figuren; keine Helden, mit denen der Zuschauer sich identifizieren kann. Worauf man schaut sind verschiedene Facetten derselben Person. Der Protagonist verkörpert also ein Wesen mit multiplen Identitäten, dessen Gesicht sich von einer Sequenz zu anderen rasch ändert, so dass man von einer Art filmischen Schizophrenie sprechen kann. Aber der Wechsel von Physiognomie und Erscheinung geschieht so schnell, dass man das kaum merkt. Auffällig ist der markante Unterschied zwischen den jeweiligen Figuren. Mit maßlos geschminkten Gesichtern sehen sie wie dunkel surrealistischen Gestalten aus, die direkt aus Horror Film entnommen scheinen. Hier zeigt sich Ute Ströers Vorliebe für dieses Genre und Filmen wie THE MASK OF SATAN von Mario Bava und THE COMPANY OF WOLVES von Neil Jordan. Schlafende Füchsin ist wie ein bildgewordener Alptraum, indem Schrecken, Ängste und Sehnsüchte durch die verschiedenen Charaktere repräsentiert werden.
Es gibt also weder Angeklagte noch Opfer, niemand, auf den man mit den Fingern zeigt oder den man in Schutz nehmen müsste. Man befindet sich an einem Ort – wie in einem Traum, wo kein Urteil gefällt werden muss.
Wenn auch die Atmosphäre bisweilen kitschig und barock beladen wirkt, sind diese Effekte im Film da, einzig um die Regeln der Moral hinweg zu fegen und das, was das Märchen an Befreiendem für das Unterbewusstsein inne hält, zu offenbaren.

DEU / ENG